Czech Republic
United Kingdom

Gul Inland Championships Grafham Water SC

  • RS Vareo at 2016 Dinghy Show
Eighteen Vareos entered the 6 race competition. Day 1 saw winds varying from non-existent to Force 2 giving rise to frustration when sitting in a complete calm on the start line or being caught on the wrong side of a wind shift in the very light airs. Martin Barrett did well to win the first two races, Luke Fisher winning the third. John Lapes, Christopher Froehlich, and Tim Greenwood each achieved a second with Froehlich, Greenwood and Jim King getting thirds. Day 2 saw slightly more wind for Race 4 increasing to a more exciting Force 3 to 4 for Race 6. First places went to Carl Whitehead, Fisher and Barratt with second places going to Fisher, John Lapes and Robin Saunders. Third places went to Barratt (twice) and Dennis Froggartt. Overall results saw Martin Barratt (Craven SC) first, Luke Fisher (Milton Keynes SC) second, Christopher Froehlich (Burghfield SC) third and Tim Greenwood (Chew Valley SC) fourth. The event had its lighter moments such as when Barrett, far ahead of the next boat and having lapped the tail enders was told on crossing the finishing line to do another lap "to catch up with the leaders". Spectator sport was provided by Froehlich and Lapes who managed to capsize in front of the committee boat, 20 metres from the finishing line. Finishing on the high note of an excellent final race, one forgot the light airs of Day 1 and remembered the event as most enjoyable and very well organised by Grafham SC. Christopher Froehlich Vareo Fleet Rep
1 142 Vario Martin Barrett Craven 2 210 Vario Luke Fisher Milton Keynes 3 162 Vario Christopher Froehlich Burfield 4 261 Vario Tim Greenwood Chew Valley 5 312 Vario John Lapes Bristol Corinthian 6 313 Vario Dennis Froggartt Cavenham 7 315 Vario Robin Saunders Chase 8 208 Vario Chris Moore Redesmere 9 215 Vario Carl Whitehead Filey 10 267 Vario John Ogden Covenham 11 233 Vario David Nicholls Hayling Island 12 252 Vario Tom Smith Grafham Water 13 234 Vario Owen Jones-Williams Newquay 14 179 Vario Eddie MacDonald Whitefriars 15 = 314 Vario Alan Caldicott Chase SC 15 = 222 Vario Rick Clements Downs 17 139 Vario David Watson Hayling Island 18 317 Vario Jim King DWSC
Website Security Test