United Kingdom
United States



    West Country Boat Repairs RS200 SW Ugly Tour Open at Llangdegfedd Sailing Club, July 10, 2021

    Despite uninspiring forecasts of no wind whatsoever, 12 RS200s and 9 RS400s arrived cheerfully at sunny Llangdegfedd Sailing Club for the first ever combined RS200/400 Open meeting, and the 4th in the 2021 RS200 Ugly Tour series. The race organisers’ brave decision to push on with a prompt start paid off as the wind filled in on cue to reward sailors with a full afternoon of racing. Plenty of shifts and a few unexpected brisk moments kept everyone busy working out tactics. We ended the day back on the balcony of Llangdegfedd’s stunning clubhouse to enjoy a leisurely tea and homemade cakes in the evening sunshine. Warm thanks to Llangdegfedd for their great hospitality!

    Race 1 split the pack to the 2 sides of the water and saw newcomer Ryan Bush with his able sidekick Chris Baker storm down the course to a resounding win. John Teague and Naomi Pound came a solid second, followed by Ed Whitehead and Anna Horackova, racing together for the first time.

    First and third places switched in Race 2, with Ed/Anna picking the best side of the course to take the lead and Ryan/Chris following Merrick Stanley and Victoria Upton closely down the other side to finish in that order.

    Race 3 was confidently won by consistently good pairing Fred and Liz Mainwaring, with Ryan and Chris coming in second followed by James Williams and Vicky Counsell.

    Some wise decisions right from the start gave a solid lead to Ryan and Chris in Race 4 again. John/Naomi and Ed/Anna tussled for second place, with Ed and Anna leading all the way down the final run towards an almost certain second, until a perfect tack by John/Naomi around the leeward mark pushed them into second place, leaving Ed/Anna somewhat gobsmacked in third!

    Gold Fleet winners were Ryan Bush/Chris Baker (BCYC), 2nd place Ed Whitehead/Anna Horackova (Parkstone/BCYC), 3rd place Fred and Liz Mainwaring (Exemouth). The Silver fleet was taken by John Harvey and Sarah Maddison (Thornbury) and Bronze went to Paul Pritchard and Clare Horackova (BCYC). Roll on the next event in the Ugly Tour at Parkstone on 24 July!

    Photo Gallery thanks to Rachel Hubbard at Llandegfedd SC, if anyone woul like a high res copy of an image please email [email protected]

    RS200 and RS400 South West Region Regatta

    Results are final as of 9:57 on July 12, 2021


    RS 200 Fleet


    Sailed: 4, Discards: 1, To count: 3, Entries: 12, Scoring system: Appendix A


    Rank Fleet SailNo HelmName CrewName Club R1 R2 R3 R4 Total Nett
    1 RS 200 1690 Ryan Busli Chris Baker BCYC 1.0 (3.0) 2.0 1.0 7.0 4.0
    2 RS 200 1562 Ed Whitehead Anna Horackova BCYC 3.0 1.0 (4.0) 3.0 11.0 7.0
    3 RS 200 418 Fred Mainwaring Liz Mainwaring Exe SC 4.0 (5.0) 1.0 4.0 14.0 9.0
    4 RS 200 1365 John Teague Naomi Pound BCYC 2.0 (8.0) 5.0 2.0 17.0 9.0
    5 RS 200 1019 James Williams Vicky Counsell Chew Valley SC (9.0) 4.0 3.0 5.0 21.0 12.0
    6 RS 200 609 Merrick Stanley Victoria Upton Llandegfedd SC/Exe SC 6.0 2.0 (7.0) 6.0 21.0 14.0
    7 RS 200 1658 John Harvey Sarah Maddison Thornbury 7.0 7.0 6.0 (9.0) 29.0 20.0
    8 RS 200 1445 David Jarrett Sam Morley Llandegfedd SC 5.0 (9.0) 9.0 7.0 30.0 21.0
    9 RS 200 13 Sarah Green Dave Green Llandegfedd SC (8.0) 6.0 8.0 8.0 30.0 22.0
    10 RS 200 977 Paul Pritchard Clare Horackova BCYC (12.0) 10.0 10.0 10.0 42.0 30.0
    11 RS 200 1027 Tom Willett Callum Rooker Llandegfedd SC 10.0 (12.0) 11.0 11.0 44.0 32.0
    12 RS 200 586 Alicia Biggs Jack Sims Llandegfedd SC 11.0 11.0 (12.0) 12.0 46.0 34.0
    Website Security Test